Membership Chambers

To balance the interests of different stakeholders, FSC is governed by three chambers with equal vote and power to make decisions. The three chambers represent environmental, economic and social interests. Each chamber is divided into sub-chamber North and South; the US is in the “North” chamber. This ensures equal weight of vote and influence for the different interest groups as well as for different parts of the world and economic power.
Members of all FSC chambers demonstrate an interest in environmentally appropriate, socially beneficial and economically prosperous forest management, with demonstrated support for the FSC Principles and Criteria.

Individuals,research, academic, technical institutions are eligible to become members. TheFSC Board will determine their designation to a particular chamber.

Environmental Examples Include:

  • Non-Profits
  • Non-Governmental Organizations
  • Research, technical, academic institutions

Social Examples Include:

  • Social Movements
  • Non-profits
  • Indigenous Organizations
  • Non-Governmental Organizations
  • Research, technical academic institutions

Economic Examples Include:

  • Certification bodies
  • Consulting companies
  • Wholesalers
  • Retailers
  • Consumer Associations
  • Industry and trade associations (profit or non-profit)